Did you ever feel like not sharing some of your more personal stuff across all your followers? Well, you are in luck now as Instagram has introduced a new feature that will allow you to share certain stories with your close friends only. This means that you can make a group of your friends and decide to send the stories to only them without having all your followers view them.
Instagram listed the steps on how you can use this new feature in their Blog Post:
To add people to your list, go to your profile and tap on “Close Friends” in the side menu. Only you can see your close friends list and no one can request to be added, so you can feel comfortable adjusting it at any time. When you share to Stories, you’ll see the option to share with just the people on your close friends list. If someone has added you to their list, you will see a green badge when you’re viewing their stories. You’ll also see a green ring around their profile photo in the Stories tray.
The company is trying to make the photo-sharing platform more socially comfortable and acceptable as possible with these new updates. This is because adding or removing followers can lead to disagreements between friends and can also lead to loosing your close ones in the long run. Instagram wants to make things convenient if you want to share something privately and not let everyone know about it and make it a huge fuss.