YouTube Increases Upload Limit to 15 Minutes

Till date, you could only upload videos on YouTube which were worth 10 minutes. This time limit was good for reviews and news of some sort, but really not enough. Today, YouTube has announced that the video time limit has been increased to 15 minutes. Not a huge increase, but a necessary update.

To promote this new feature, YouTube has even started a new campaign. YouTube requests users to upload videos of 15 minutes and indicate what they want to communicate to the world. Users interested could upload the video and put “yt15minutes” as a tag. YouTube would automatically select a handful videos and place them on their homepage.

Read the blog post from YouTube which explains why they applied this feature now –

We want YouTube to be the best place to upload video. Without question, the number one requested feature by our creators is to upload videos longer than 10 minutes. We’ve heard you, and today we’re pleased to announce that we’ve increased the upload limit to 15 minutes.

We encourage you to take full advantage of this new time limit by making a video of your “15 minutes of fame.” Imagine that this video is all the world will ever know about you: what would you want to communicate? What will be the enduring stamp you’ve left on us all? Tag your video with “yt15minutes,” upload it by Wednesday, August 4, and we’ll select a handful of people to truly gain their 15 minutes of fame by featuring them on the YouTube homepage in a future spotlight.

In the meantime, you may wonder “why now?” — the upload limit for non-partners has been 10 minutes for years. Well, we’ve spent significant resources on creating and improving our state-of-the-art Content ID system and many other powerful tools for copyright owners. Now, all of the major U.S. movie studios, music labels and over 1,000 other global partners use Content ID to manage their content on YouTube. Because of the success of these ongoing technological efforts, we are able to increase the upload limit today. We will continue our strong commitment to provide advanced technology and tools to protect the rights of small and large copyright owners worldwide. We’ll also do everything we can to release incremental improvements like this one that benefit our video creators.

If you have previously uploaded a video on YouTube which was rejected because it was higher than the upload limit, you need to go to My Videos and delete it before you re-upload it. What do you think about this new feature? Is 15 minutes really enough to express something? Will this new feature really help you? Do express your thoughts in the comments section below.